As previously reported, California law (AB 1228) will require fast food workers to be paid a minimum of $20 per hour effective April 1, 2024. The Labor Commissioner’s Office has posted a Fast Food Minimum Wage Frequently Asked Questions to address the new law. The FAQ provides that to qualify as an exempt employee, an employee must receive a salary of at least two times the state minimum wage and meet other specific requirements. The FAQ notes that for employees employed by a fast food restaurant, this means that the minimum salary amount is $83,200 starting on April 1, 2024. Further, a supplement to the minimum wage order should also be posted and can be found here. California employers with questions about AB 1228 should contact experienced counsel.